Our Team

Meet the People Behind the Scenes

Andy Effting

Dr Andy Effting


Andy graduated at the University of Witwatersrand in 1981 and was the recipient of the Henry St John Randolph award for the 'Best All Round Student'. He relocated to Cape Town and established the Hout Bay Dental Studio in 1983. The one-dentist practice has since grown to incorporate a team of 4 dentists, 2 hygienists, their nurses and support staff.

Andy is an active member of the International Team of Implantology and the Two Oceans study group. He has published articles in Dentistry SA and presented many case presentations at his study groups. He has also made several guest appearances on radio shows and television, discussing dental related matters.

Andy has a particular interest in metal free, minimally invasive dentistry and treating patients in a holistic manner. He receives referrals from many alternative health practitioners and is familiar with all of the unique concerns and demands as related to their dental treatment.

Jean van Lierop

Dr Jean van Lierop

Vice President

Dr Jean van Lierop graduated from the University of Stellenbosch in 1999, after which he spent some time in private practice in the Netherlands and United Kingdom. After his return to South Africa he joined Hout Bay Dental Studio, and is now a director.

He has established himself as a respected cosmetic dentist using modern dentistry to positively impact on his patients' appearance and confidence. Jean has a keen interest in new developments in composite restorations and direct bonding techniques.

Jean is a member of the ITI (International Team for Implantology) and IAPD (International Association of Paediatric Dentistry). Dr van Lierop is overseeing the SAAAD marketing and membership correspondence.

SAAAD Board of Directors

Mark Bowes

Dr Mark Bowes

Past President

Mark qualified from the University of Witwatersrand in 1981 and spent 23 years in private practice in London before 'seeing the light' and returning to Cape Town. Whilst in London he became a member of the British Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry, Association of Dental Implantology, American Equilibration Society, a Fellow of the International Congress of Implantologists and the London Study Group. After his return to Cape Town he was approached to start the South African Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry, of which he is now immediate past president.

Mark's passion and focus lies in cosmetic and advanced restorative dentistry and he has been involved in all aspects of implant dentistry. He continues to travel the world to make sure that he has the best skills available to his patients.

Ivonne Meyer

Dr Ivonne Meyer


Originally from Namibia, Ivonne graduated at the University of Stellenbosch in 2001, after which she spent 3 years in private practice in the Netherlands. Her other qualifications include a Post Graduate Diploma in Aesthetic Dentistry (PDD-Aesthetic Dentistry - University of the Western Cape 2006); the international qualifying exam (IQE) for registration in the United Kingdom (2008) and a MBA (University of Cape Town Graduate School of Business 2010). Ivonne is fluent is English, Afrikaans, German and Dutch.

Ivonne is passionate about aesthetics and modern adhesive techniques in dentistry. She has a special interest in preventative and restorative dentistry related to erosion and abrasion and has frequently lectured on these topics.

Andrew Ellis

Dr Andrew Ellis

Dr Andrew Ellis was elected to the board at the SAAAD AGM held on September 5 2015.


JJ Serfontein

Dr JJ Serfontein

Dr JJ Serfontein was elected to the board at the SAAAD AGM held on September 5 2015.



The team behind the scenes at AllisOne.

Cindi Barnard

Membership and events.

Yvonne Peter

Accounts management.

Alison Effting

Website content and administration.

Be a part of this Dynamic Dental Community

Haven't signed up yet?